A few days in heaven – Nizwa

The Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar, A few days on the edge of heaven, relaxing with precarious yoga (a new practice soon to be the rage).

Maria’s view

The day before, Alex and I agreed to join a yoga lesson early in the morning, yes, early, which means to get up early, but, to be honest, I wanted to squeeze the time in the hotel , so for once, getting up early with great scenery waiting for you to give you the most spectacular “Good morning” , didn’t sound like a bad plan.
Alex asked me few times if I was sure and ready to get up that early, she knows me too well.

After having a yoga lesson in one of the most beautiful places on earth, we were ready for breakfast.
I am glad breakfast was after the lesson, otherwise we wouldn’t be able of doing anything, not even the warm up.

We all know that breakfast should be the most important meal of the day, I can assure you that people who make decisions on the choices offered for breakfast in the hotel, they truly believe in that statement, because I have never seen anything similar before.

They had a lot of different stations, almost everything you could think of was there (juices, yoghurts, cereals, pastries, bread, cold meats, etc…).
We always started with a fresh fruit plate (just thinking of a healthy style that was ruined as soon as we finished the fruit).
The most delicious thing we found, it was something similar to a pancake, Omani style, so unique and delicious that due to my lack of memory I can only remember the taste of it, it was absolutely unforgettable!! A man was preparing it in front of you, it was so fresh.
It is funny that I didn’t have to travel to New York to try cronuts (a mixture between croissants and doughnuts) as I did it in this hotel. Little surprises that make you feel that you are in a unique place.

If you still need a bit more of relaxation, the hotel has a great spa. It has different indoor swimming pools, aroma sauna, steam rooms, experience showers and health stations with snacks, nuts, dried fruits and herbal teas. After enjoying all of these facilities, we decided to book a treatment called “Rose ritual”, so first of all we had to wait in the hall and a drink was offered.
The spa hall was very pretty, there was a shallow moat bordering the room, just for decoration, the moat merged with one of the pools. Alex and I were quiet at that point (for once), enjoying our drink, when suddenly a guy dressed appropriately in a bathrobe and slippers , who had just finished a treatment, followed by his partner, suddenly fell straight into the moat.
As soon as we realised that he was not injured, Alex and I were looking at each other, making sure we both saw “the accident” and we both wanted to not laugh (for manners and respect) but when the partner saw him completely soaked, she started laughing and then Alex and I had to join her, especially me, who finds it very difficult to stay serious when there is a funny situation close to me. It was hilarious, so unexpected.
So, we were ready for our Rose ritual. The staff once more were superb, very professional and kind.
We enjoyed a facial and massage with rose, it was great. My skin felt like silk after the treatment.
The girl who was doing my massage, she kindly asked me how I wanted the massage, thinking of my lower back problems I asked for hard and I am still wondering how a super skinny and not tall lady could have so much strength, I can still feel her fingers on my back, but it was really great.

I can only say one more time, the staff are super professional and they really want to make you feel comfortable from the time you arrive until the end of your stay. Super!!

Spa
Great cocktails menu

Alex’s view

Imagine….it is morning, the sun steals through the curtains and lands on your face, and bathes it with warmth. You wake up and open the curtains to the most spectacular of views, blue sky and the prospect of yoga. First, the biggest challenge is to wake Maria. It is 6:30 am. But I am a positive person and I deploy all the tools in my arsenal with confidence: the gentle aroma of espresso, a bucket of water and a pneumatic drill. I eventually succeed in shaking her awake..

We walk towards Diana’s point which is the amazing platform overhanging the cliff, as yoga is held in this picture perfect location. It will be the most peaceful yoga moment of my life, no doubt. Or at least so I thought. Imagine a gently rising sun with its beautiful soft pallet of amber hues…. imagine a yogi at the head of the class, urging stillness and balance. Urging you to look inwards and inhale steadily the fresh mountain air. The sun warming your skin, the breeze cooling it in a beautiful thermal ballet. Peace, stillness, calm. Then imagine Maria giggling every time she looses her balance, which is often. Obviously I can’t but giggle myself! How could I not. Let’s say that it was a unique yoga experience, tree pose, breathe in, fall over, giggle, lunge, breathe in, breathe out, overbalance to the right, giggle, fall over. Repeat for an hour. Unique.

Now , onto the well deserved serious business of food. The resort has a number of restaurants. We bypassed the mandatory Italian, obviously. However we amply indulged in the all day dining at the Al Maisan, the Al Qaala which featured Omani delights, and even indulged in some cocktails at the Al Burj.

Upon entering the Al Qaala, one is entranced by the beautiful centre piece of a chandelier and welcoming elegant atmosphere. It was explained to us that in Oman, when guests are present, the idea is to have a table laden with food, more than can be eaten, it must be loaded until the table groans under the strain of the variety of dishes. This was only explained to us AFTER we ordered dinner. Mixed meze for two… what arrived was mixed meze for 12. Then we had the lamb and desert, swiftly followed by the golf buggy ambulance to transport us to the room. Neither of us were able to walk, construct sentences or function.

The second night we went for a buffet, so this time, while the end result remained unchanged, we could not even blame the restaurant’s portions, as it was entirely self induced. How could one resist a table full of local delicacies, with associated history and all of which were superbly fresh and superbly cooked. Obviously we could not. We did however, decide that a cocktail would most certainly help lubricate the succulent dishes and headed straight for the Al Burj. The cocktail bar features the more traditional cocktails and a variety of signature cocktails with local flavours and ingredients. One more exquisite than the other. So this evening, not only were we unable to walk due to the low centre of gravity caused by the ingestion of vast amount of food; we were also hindered by the post cocktail localised… erm…. change in magnetic fields and oblique gravitational pull. Terrible business.

Now as to the little delightful touch. Omani coffee is something truly delicious, as the waiters noticed that at breakfast I did indulge in the substance. However, it was not available on the menu, primarily as s result of the time it takes to make it….. so the second evening, they had one specially made for me and brought to the table after dinner, without my asking, a true surprise. I was never happier. This is service, this is luxury: a true desire to exceed expectations, a true desire to please and delight the guests.

Of all the five star hotels I have been to, this Hotel is unequalled to date, in my view.

Maria trying to find balance
Mixed meze

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started