Anantara Al Jabal Al Akhdar Resort “I am Princess Diana”

Maria’s view

The name of the hotel is quite difficult to spell although it won’t be forgotten never ever, I do not have a great memory but every time I think of “The Hotel”, only amazing memories come to my head.

At the moment that you park, yes we arrived yaaay!!! you are immersed in a unique experience. First of all I loved the staff uniforms, they were wearing the typical Omani clothes and they looked so elegant.
We were welcomed once again with a fresh drink and wet hand towels which was always appreciated.

I remember being astonished looking around, all seemed very spacious, it made me feel calm and relaxed.

The main building is flat, it is not a super good looking building but once inside, every corner is magical, I suppose you are wondering why? Because there are very pretty hotels around the world. This hotel is different because of the stunning location.

Once in the hotel, the thing that impressed me the most was a canyon view platform (all in glass) where you had the perfect view of the mountains…I-N-C-R-E-D-I-B-L-E!! Apparently Princess Diana was on that location where the platform was built, she arrived there by helicopter. I am glad I am not a Princess because I am scared of heights and I much prefer arriving by 4×4 rather than in a helicopter, pheeeww!!.

If the hotel itself cannot leave anyone indifferent, let’s talk about the rooms.

We were in one of the privileged rooms with an outdoor pool (heated) and mountains view….What else could we ask for??

Me, a normal woman raised and born in a northwest town in Spain, who spent most of her childhood and youth in Scout camps with very basic facilities (and very low budget too) although I had the best time of my life. Me, Maria, I was in one of the most incredible hotels in the world, I was dreaming.

I am not ashamed of showing my feelings and that’s why Alex loves recording me wherever we go together,
Alex was with the telephone ready to capture me, ready to open the door of our bedroom, if I can call it bedroom.
Once the door was opened, I couldn’t close my mouth and I thought my eyes will take off from my face at some point.

You go straight into a living room, with a table full of fresh fruit ready to eat and a bottle of champagne, cheers!!
The curtain was opened so you can have “the view” from the first time you put a foot in your room. OMG what a view!! I would never be bored looking at it, just doing nothing else, looking at the mountains, that’s it!!
There was a notebook, easel and colour pencils for those with drawing skills because trust me, the inspiration was already there.
Alex was the most happy woman on earth when she saw another table full of coffee.

Next to the living room it was the bedroom, with a huuuuge and strategically placed bed to have “The view” as soon as you wake up…the dream was continuing.

And on top of that…Ta-da!!! The terrace…Yes, the terrace with the outdoor heated pool facing the mountains.
Could it be real?? Was it possible that I was there?? Really?? Was I working for this hotel instead of being a guest?? Not sure, it seemed surreal. I could imagine any celebrity in this hotel not just Princess Diana. Well, any celebrity and myself of course šŸ˜‰

I didn’t have any doubt that this would be the most beautiful hotel I would ever stay in my whole life.

When something reaches perfection, what’s next??

Alex’s view

Did the title of the post surprise you. Maria’s initial statement on viewing the room was in fact “what the hell am I doing here?” swiftly followed by, “I am Princess Diana”. I have a brilliant video of just these statements which I will always use when I am having a bad day. it should be used as a remedy for depression. I love Maria. My life would be so dull without her. You must understand that she is exceptionally generous with her emotions, which , coupled with her intelligence, sense of adventure and pragmatic ability to take any difficulty in its stride, makes her the best travel companion. Everything is always a surprise which she greets with the enthusiasm of a cheerleader. No stiff upper lip in sight.

I am known to indulge in luxury hotels. Luxury to me is something slightly different to catalogue luxury, it is a more subtle concept which makes me rather choosy. However, this hotel was hands down spectacular. I cannot fault it.

The service: exceptional, not only do the staff have a genuine desire to make one’s stay as comfortable as possible, but the pride they have for the country, location, geography shines through. In addition, they don’t think twice about going the extra mile. In my case, this manifested itself by the retrieval of the camera lens I had forgotten in the previous hotel, and which was delivered in my hands at dinner. From breakfast to the spa to dinner, attentive care is bestowed on each guest. Any concern or worry is removed from you and addressed seamlessly and with competence. The check in was, as expected, very attentive. It featured with a selection of dates, macaroons, drinks and cooling towels, as Maria has outlined. The tour of the hotel prior to arrival in the room is also very welcome as it enabled us to gain a good idea of the resort. I think the hotel also deployed magical powers to understand that I am somewhat partial to coffee. The overwhelming buffer stock of coffee near the Espresso machine was a very welcome sight. Coffee supply forms the cornerstone of my definition of luxury…unlimited decent coffee! Coffee is not a necessity which should be supplied on a just in time basis, at least, not to me.

The hotel: The architecture of the building is a modern interpretation of the Omani forts and is designed to create a sequence of journeys for the guests to experience. It engineers walks which showcase the utterly sensational views. It features a vast array of amenities including a games room, sporting facilities, a spa, pool, and a variety of trips and adventures especially organised for the guests. It is a very quiet resort, designed for privacy, you barely meet guests other than at dinner and breakfast. Bliss.

The scent: The hotel has an aroma of rose which is astounding. These parts are famous for rose oil and water and as such, it is a signature feature of the hotel. I am not sure how they achieve it, but it feels like staff are 10 meters ahead of you, spraying rose water in the air to welcome your every step. It is not overpowering, but beautifully gauged to deliver a sensory experience which enriches the visual feast.

The room: I booked a clifftop pool villa, because quite frankly, why not? It was superb. The room’s dĆ©cor, the very large pool, and fabulous balcony were all side dishes to the main course, which was the utterly endless view lit in the warm colours of the mountain sunshine. So “Princess Diana” and I spent a considerable amount of time simply staring at the picture in front of us, glass of champagne in hand and huge smile on our faces.

The only mild inconvenience, was that it is intended for couples on romantic breaks, so they don’t offer a twin bed option… which is a shame! Maria is not a person who sleeps restfully. She sleeps with the same energy, enthusiasm and motion which she deploys everywhere else. I.e. the same energy as I would expend during an aerobic workout. This clearly did not improve my insomnia, but on the upside, it enabled me to enjoy both the view and the stars for many more hours than I would normally have done. Even with a black eye. One night, I grabbed a blanket and elected to escape to the balcony at 4 am to enjoy the view . This was primarily driven by Maria tugging the blankets so violently, that I flipped multiple times like a pancake from the momentum.. Once off the bed and sprawled on the floor, the risk appetite for a repetition of the acrobatics, deserted me, and the balcony seemed like a sensible idea. This is why I can attest to the clear night air and unobstructed star gazing possibilities.

There is more to come….yoga. Oh yes.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started